What's the difference between a locust and a grasshopper?

Locusts and grasshoppers are the same in appearance, but locusts can live either solitarily or in swarms, whereas most grasshoppers only live solitary lifes. When the population density is low, locusts behave as individuals, much like grasshoppers.

---

Locusts are a type of grasshopper. The main difference is that locusts have the ability to swarm.

---

Locusts and grasshoppers are the same in appearance, but locusts can exist in two different behavioural states (solitary and gregarious), whereas most grasshoppers do not. When the population density is low, locusts behave as individuals, much like grasshoppers.