What is swiss melted cheese dish for dipping bread in?

Fondue is a Swiss melted cheese dish served in a communal pot (caquelon) over a portable stove, heated with a candle or spirit lamp. Bread is then dipped into the cheese using long-stemmed forks. Fondue types: cheese, oil, chocolate.