What kind of tree do bananas grow on?

Bananas grow on a type of herbaceous plant classified as a "false stem" or pseudostem. The banana plant is not a tree, but rather a perennial plant that grows from a rhizome, which is an underground stem. The true stem of the banana plant is very short, and is located underground.