How does gas x. work?

Gas-X uses a chemical they call simethicone which prevents the growth of large bubbles of gas in the digestive tract. Gas-x doesn't exactly prevent gas but breaks up the larger bubbles that can cause discomfort as they pass through the digestive tract.