What is a producer in science?

A producer is an organism, either a green plant or bacterium, which is part of the first level of a food chain.

---

Producer is an autotrophic organism that serves as a source of food for other organisms in a food chain. Producers include green plants, which produce food through photosynthesis, and certain bacteria that are capable of converting inorganic substances into food through chemosynthesis