How do you roast chestnuts on an open fire?

Rinse and score the shells, then put the nuts in a cast iron frying pan flat side down. If you have a fireplace or campfire going, move things around so there is a bed of glowing coals upon which the pan can rest. Place the pan on the coals for about 5 minutes