Where are the snowdens of yesteryear?

This is a question posed by Yossarian in Joseph Heller’s Catch-22 to find out why so many people were working so hard to kill him. This seemingly rhetorical question is what one asks when one feels that everyone else is asking stupid questions and wants to point out how stupid their questions are.