Why do jalapenos turn red?

They are green peppers and if left alone, turn red before picking. Be careful with red jalapenos because they can contract stem rot and black rot. It is best to pick the when they are green.

---

Left on the plant, and even picked, green jalapeños will eventually turn red. So red jalapeños are older than green jalapeños. The red ones can be pretty hot, especially if they have a lot of striations, but they are also sweeter than the green.