How do you play a chord on a guitar?

Here is the standard way to play an A major chord in the open position: - Index finger on the 2nd fret of the D (4th) string. - Middle finger on the 2nd fret of the G (3rd) string. - Ring finger on the 2nd fret of the B (2nd) string.