What are the ingredients of chowder?

The ingredients of chowder depend on what type of chowder you're making. Chowder starts with a base of salt pork or bacon and a mix of vegetables like onions, celery, and potatoes. Most chowders are creamy, but Manhattan clam chowder has a tomato base.