How long can a christmas tree go without water?

A cut Christmas tree can drink a quart or more per day. The most important thing is to make sure the cut edge does not dry out; if it does the cut will be sealed by dried sap and the tree will dry out quickly.

---

No amount of time. The cut tree is already dying and a lack of water will speed the process. Falling needles are a sign of death.