What is a coffee press?

A coffee press also known as a French press, is a coffee brewing device, in which ground coffee is placed in a container with hot water to brew coffee, then a mesh filter is pressed through the brewed coffee pushing the grounds to the bottom, and leaving the liquid coffee to be poured from the top.