How do you trade in pokemon scarlet?

A player must select Trade it for the trade to complete. Hit Surprise Trade. Choose Pokémon you want to trade, then pick Trade it. It will search for a random player to trade with while you continue your adventure. Once a trade partner is found and the trade is completed, a notification will appear.