Are sweet potatoes superfoods?

Sweet potatoes, often inaccurately called yams, are considered a superfood, thanks to their many health benefits, says nutritionist Katherine Tallmadge. They're loaded with beta carotene, which functions as a potent antioxidant and a rich source of vitamin A