Where was the deadliest avalanche ever?

The deadliest avalanche was in Peru May 31, 1970, as a result of the Ancash Earthquake, or the Great Peruvian Earthquake. The earthquake triggered an avalanche that claimed the lives of almost 20,000 people, making it the deadliest avalanche in the recorded history of humankind.