What is a shark made of?

Unlike fishes with bony skeletons, a shark’s skeleton is made out of cartilage. Cartilage is a flexible, but strong connective tissue, that is also found throughout the human body. Cartilage is less dense than bone, allowing sharks to move quickly through water without using too much energy.