What is an oxygen eating bacteria?

The two known groups of methane-consuming bacteria live in either the absence of oxygen (anaerobic methanotrophs) or exploit oxygen from the atmosphere (aerobic methanotrophs). But M. oxyfera can survive in methane-rich areas that are inhospitable to many other bacteria.

---

Examples of aerobic bacteria are Nocardia sp., Psuedomonas aeruginosa, Mycobacterium tuberculosis, and Bacillus sp.