What does exclamation mark and question mark mean?

The use of an exclamation point and a question mark together at the end of the same sentence, sometimes called an "interrobang," combines the functions of the two, asking a question with excitement, disbelief, or confusion.

---

The audible difference between exclamation and question marks is a matter is inflection. The exclamation mark adding emphasis and the question mark looking for an answer. As an example, try saying "you what" with an exclamation and then a question mark. Listen to your tone.