How do you register songs in animal crossing?

Go to Nook Shopping, then Special Items. You'll need to have the song in your pocket in order to register it. Tap A to interact with any stereo in your home to open the menu that has the Register button. Once you hit register on the stereo you'll be able to select the song from your pocket.