How is black licorice made?

To make licorice, extract of the roots of the liquorice plant are crushed and pulped into boiling water and the sap is extracted and dried into a golden-brown powder. It is then mixed with wheat flour, syrup and anise, dissolved in water and then boiled to create a dough.