What is the difference between a physician's assistant and a nurse practitioner?

Nurses follow a patient-centered model,and focus on disease prevention, health education, assessment, diagnosis and treatment. Physician assistants follow a disease-centered model, and focus on the biologic and pathologic components of health, and also practice assessment, diagnosis, and treatment.