How many defensive players have won the heisman trophy?

Charles Woodson of the University of Michigan is the only primarily defensive player to win the award, beating out favorite Peyton Manning, quarterback for the University of Tennessee, in 1997. He was a standout cornerback, but also occasionally played as a wide receiver and punt returner.