What is minecraft one point eight?

1.8, the first release of the Bountiful Update, is a major update to Minecraft. It added and changed many aspects of Minecraft (Java Edition). Among many things, the update made it easier for map makers to create adventure maps, whilst using the newly added Spectator mode.