What is a valerie?

Besides being a name most often given to women, such as actor Valerie Bertinelli, or to songs, such as the one sung by Steve Winwood, Valerie is the name of a TV Series that ran from 1986 to 1991, starring Valerie Harper and, later, Sandy Duncan.