How common are hazel colored eyes?

About 5% of the world's population has hazel colored eyes. Hazel eyes are a mixture of colors, typically brown with green and gold and possibly even gray or blue flecks. In many cases, the inner circle of the iris is lighter than the outer edge, where the melanin is more concentrated.