What is the hindenburg explosion?

The German airship Hindenburg exploded in New Jersey on May 6, 1937. It is where the quote "Oh the humanity" comes from. It's theorized that with the airship being filled with highly-flammable hydrogen that it exploded due to a static spark. There were 35 fatalities & 62 survivors.