Where does the name blair come from?

Blair is an English-language name of Scottish Gaelic origin. The surname is derived from any of the numerous places in Scotland called Blair, derived from the Scottish Gaelic blàr, meaning "plain", "meadow" or "field". Considered masculine in Scottland or Canada.