What's a. one c.?

A1C is a common blood test used to diagnose diabetes. A1C test results reflect average blood sugar level for the past couple of months. Specifically, the A1C test measures what percentage of hemoglobin proteins in your blood are coated with sugar.

---

The hemoglobin A1c test measures your average level of blood sugar over the past 2 to 3 months. A1c itself means hemoglobin A1C (or H b A1C).