How fast is the speed of wi fi?

The original wifi standard IEEE 802.11 was released in 1997 but is now obsolete. It specified two net bit rates of 1 or 2 megabits per second, plus forward error correction code. The current mode, 802.11ac is dozens of times faster and delivers speeds from 433 Mbps up to several gigabits per second.