How did aids get started?

H.I.V. crossed from chimps to humans in the 1920s in what is now the Democratic Republic of Congo. This was probably as a result of chimps carrying the Simian Immunodeficiency Virus, a virus closely related to HIV, being hunted and eaten by people living in the area.