Who sings angel?

It's a song by Canadian singer-songwriter Sarah McLachlan.1st appeared on her1997 album Surfacing. Lyrics are about Jonathan Melvoin, Smashing Pumpkins' touring keyboard player who died from heroin overdose1961, as she told on VH1 Storytellers. Since released, "Angel" has charted in many countries.