What was the reason for the berlin wall?

Between 1949-1961, 2.5 million East Germans fled to West Germany, including large numbers of skilled workers,professionals,and intellectuals, damaging the economic viability of East Germany. In response, East Germany built the wall to close off East Germans' access to West Berlin and West Germany.