How long do i broil a one inch steak?

Let steak come to room temperature. Pat steak dry and sprinkle all over with half teaspoon salt and half teaspoon pepper. Broil steak on rack of broiler pan 3 inches from heat 4 to 5 minutes per side for medium-rare. Let stand, loosely covered for 5 minutes before slicing.