Who made the first smoothie?

Smoothies aren’t a recent American invention. They go back centuries to cultures around the world, and then to South America as a “fruit slush”. The American smoothies, a pureed fruit drink, began in the early 1920’s, originated by Julius Freed, of Orange Julius fame.