How big can snapping turtles get?

Common snappers are usually 12–18″ long and weigh up to 35 lbs, but there are individuals who have been up to 24″ long and weighed up to 50 lbs. The alligator snapping turtle can be much larger - up to 30 inches (in rare cases more) long and close to 200 lbs.