What's the substitute for ghee?

Vegetable oils such as canola oil, soybean oil and olive oil can all be used in place of ghee. For curries or other long-cooked items, opt for oils that have a higher smoke point such as canola oil or soybean oil. Substitute 1 tablespoon of ghee with 1 tablespoon of other cooking oils.

---

Clarified butter is the most direct replacement,. For low temp cooking plain unsalted butter or brown butter works . For high temp frying you might want to use peanut oil. while the flavor won't be the same it will give some of the nutty flavor associated with good quality Ghee.