Who is carrie astor?

Carrie Astor, often referred to as Mrs. Astor, was the leader of the 400, an elite and wealthy social group in Gilded Age New York. Along with her ally Ward McAllister, Astor determined the proper etiquette of the time and guarded entrance into New York high society. She lived from 1830 to 1908.