How many years did wayne gretzky play for the edmonton oilers?

Wayne Gretzky played for the Edmonton Oilers from 1979 to 1988 where he was awarded with the Hart Memorial Trophy as the NHL's MVP. The Oilers won the Stanley Cup in 85, 87 and 88 with Gretzky as team Captain.