What's the difference between a. m. and a. sweet potato?

True yams are two totally different roots. True yams are not from this country. What we called yams are only sweet potatoes grown in the south. On the box it will say sweet potatoes,yams. But they are not real yams. They will be different because of difference in soil and climate.