What type of bear is smokey the bear?

Smokey is a black bear. American black bears live in the United States, along with brown, grizzly and polar bears. He weighs over 300 pounds. Smokey Bear lived at the National Zoo for 26 years, died November 9, 1976. Little Smokey died August 11, 1990. "Remember Only YOU Can Prevent Forest Fires."