What are the afghan papers?

The Afghanistan Papers are a set of classified documents, released in 2019 through the "Freedom of Information Act." These documents revealed that the U.S Government knew that during the 18 years of war in Afghanistan, they were not making any progress; but had systematically lied to cover it up.