How do you cut coca?

To cut fresh cocoa pods peel the pods with a vegetable peeler. Be careful, as they get REALLY slippery! Cut the cacao into small, one-inch pieces. Again, be careful! Cut out and remove the dense center layer. Do this because the center layer hardens when it cooks and becomes inedible.