How do you tell if your snail is dead?

If you can't see the body of the snail inside the shell, or if the body is hanging out of the shell without moving, the snail is most likely dead. Also, if the snail shell feels extremely light & you can't see anything inside, the snail has probably died. Look for the trapdoor on the snail's body