What is the farthest north city?

Ny-Ålesund in Svalbard Norway is the settlement furthest North. Founded as a coal mining town, it serves as a research base for around 35 people. The furthest North, with a population over 1000, is Longyearbyen, also in Norway. In the US, Barrow Alaska takes the prize.