Is edamame a lima bean?

Edamame is not a lima bean. Edamame is an immature soy bean. Lima beans are a different species.

---

No, edamame is not a lima bean. Edamame, is immature soybeans in their pods. Pods may be boiled in water, steamed, or microwaved, and is a popular side dish in Japanese cuisine.