Is the kraken an octopus?

The kraken is a giant octopus-like sea monster in Scandinavian folklore. In Norse sagas, the kraken dwells off the coasts of Norway and Greenland and terrorizes sailors. Some experts suggest that the legend is based on sightings of giant squids that may grow up to 50 feet in length.