Why is andrew jackson on the twenty?

It is not clear why Andrew Jackson replaced Grover Cleveland on the 20 dollar bill. According to wikipedia, this may be a historical irony; as president, Jackson vehemently opposed both the National Bank and paper money and made the goal of his administration the destruction of the National Bank.