Is there really such a thing as quicksand?

Yes

---

Yes, there is such a thing as quicksand. However, it doesn't work the way it's usually portrayed in movies and TV. It's actually nearly impossible to sink in it over your head; normally you only go to around the ankle. Even so, once you're in it, it's extremely difficult to get out.