What was the original purpose for bobbing for apples?

The tradition of bobbing for apples dates back to the Roman invasion of Britain, when the conquering army merged their own celebrations with traditional Celtic festivals. At first it was young unmarried people trying to bite into an apple floating in water or hanging from a string on a line