Which one is smarter cats or dogs?

A team of scientists discovered that dogs possess about 530 million neurons in the cortex of their brains, while cats have about 250 million. For perspective, the human cortex contains 16 billion neurons. Based off of this, the logical implication is that, yes, dogs are much more capable than cats.